Tuesday, June 25, 2024

The Non-Bailable Arrest Warrants Issued For Imran Khan

An Anti Terrorism Court in Lahore issued non-bailable warrants for the arrest of former prime minister Imran Khan in two cases related to arson attacks during the May 9 violence which erupted following his arrest in a corruption case.

The non – bailable arrest warrants were also issued for Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf leaders Hammed Azhar, Mian Aslam Iqbal and others, according to Geo News.

The cases against the accused were registered in the Naseerabad and Model Town police stations of Lahore for torching the container and attacking Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) office in the provincial capital.

“Anti-Terrorism Court (ATC) Lahore judge Abher Gul Khan on Tuesday issued non-bailable warrants for the arrest of PTI chairman Imran Khan and six other leaders of his party in two cases of arson attacks,” a court official told PTI.

During the nearly three-day-long violent protests, PTI supporters allegedly attacked and torched state installations, leaving at least eight dead and dozens of others injured.

Hundreds of PTI leaders and workers were also arrested after the authorities launched a crackdown to detain the suspects involved in the vandalism.

Related Articles

Latest Articles